Ancient Babylon embroidery

Ancient Babylon embroidery

There is a great variety of historical sources, sculptures, pictures and the vases representing inhabitants of various ancient civilizations, wearing the clothes embroidered with threads. These sources are dated times more than 3 000-year-old prescription, and include the materials found in Greece (400 years B.C.), Babylon and Syria (700 years B.C.).

Ancient Syrian embroidery

Ancient Syrian embroidery

Archeological excavations in Ur in 1544г. where has been found embroidered with a pure gold thread and the weaved shroud in the tomb of emperor Gonorija dated 400г. BC have shown the high standards of a thread embroidery during ancient times These gold threads have been kindled and 36 pounds of pure gold weighed. It is a shame that such historical monument has been destroyed.
As the ancient people were shepherds also the first fabrics and embroideries were manufactured from wool. Subsequently, when in Egypt fibrous properties of some plants have been opened, mainly hemp and flax, from them began to manufacture fabrics which on the whiteness have appeared especially approaching to magnificence of religious practices, and for this purpose were used at all ancient people.

Ancient Indian embroidery

Ancient Indian embroidery

Later the cotton plant has been found in India, and there have started to do the thinnest fabrics on which was an embroidery of woolen, cotton and, at last, gold threads. Thus, embroidery art also developed and got new forms along with development of art of manufacture of clothes.
In VII century quickly extending Islam began to put crushings to power of the Byzantian empire, however it hasn’t affected at all the further development and prosperity of art of an embroidery. On the contrary, the luxury of caliphs in this respect reached till the fabulous sizes: not only clothes, a horse harness and saddles, but also boots and a sheath of sabres have been richly decorated by an embroidery.

Charles the Great

Charles the Great

Among the gifts sent by Garun al-Rashid to Karl the Great, there was a magnificently embroidered tent. Still earlier in France, thanks to the established frequent trade relations with the Greek colonies, embroidery art began to extend quickly, but the first plots of embroideries have been almost exclusively borrowed from the Sacred Writing. Karl the Great, who loved to put on magnificently, has given a strong push to the further development of this art. At its court yard all women, beginning it with wife Berty and daughters, were skillful embroideresses. Its sister, Gizella, has based some monasteries in Provence and in Aquitania where various amateur arts, including an embroidery, were taught.

Embroidered painting from Bayeux

Embroidered painting from Bayeux

Among all remarkable embroideries one is especially known big and skillful, though also naive work on the execution, stored in a museum in Bayeux. This 231-foot cloth executed by Matilda, William the Conqueror wife, represent all episodes of a gain of England by the Duke Of Normandy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

wordpress best themes - 2012 wordpress theme - magazine wordpress themes

Древняя вавилонская вышивка

Древняя вавилонская вышивка

Существует великое множество исторических источников, скульптур, картин и ваз, изображающих жителей различных древних цивилизаций, носящих вышитую нитями одежду. Эти источники датируются временами более чем 3 000-летней давности, и включают материалы, найденные в Греции (400 лет до нашей эры), Вавилоне и Сирии (700 лет до нашей эры).

Древняя сирийская вышивка

Древняя сирийская вышивка

Археологические раскопки в Уре в 1544г., где был найден вышитый чистой золотой нитью и сотканный саван в могиле императора Гонория, датирующийся 400г. до н.э, показали высокие стандарты вышивки нитью в древние времена. Эти золотые нити были растоплены и весили 36 фунтов чистого золота. Это позор, что такой исторический памятник был разрушен.
Так как древние народы были пастухами, то и первые ткани и вышивки выделывались из шерсти. Впоследствии, когда в Египте были открыты волокнистые свойства некоторых растений, преимущественно пеньки и льна, из них стали выделывать ткани, которые по своей белизне оказались особенно подходящими к великолепию религиозных обрядов, и для этой цели употреблялись у всех древних народов.

Древняя индийская вышивка

Древняя индийская вышивка

 

Позднее в Индии было найдено хлопчатобумажное растение, и там начали делать тончайшие ткани, по которым вышивали шерстяными, хлопчатобумажными и, наконец, золотыми нитями. Таким образом, искусство вышивки также развивалось и приобретало новые формы наряду с развитием искусства производства одежды.
В VII веке быстро распространяющийся ислам стал наносить жестокие удары могуществу Византийской империи, однако это нисколько не повлияло на дальнейшее развитие и процветание искусства вышивки. Наоборот, роскошь калифов в этом отношении доходила до баснословных размеров: не только одежда, конская сбруя и седла, но и сапоги и ножны сабель были богато разукрашены вышивкой. В числе подарков, посланных Гаруном аль-Рашидом Карлу Великому, был роскошно вышитый шатер. Еще ранее во Франции, благодаря установившимся частым торговым отношениям с греческими колониями, искусство вышивания стало быстро распространяться, но первые сюжеты вышивок были почти исключительно заимствованы из Святого Писания.

Карл Великий

Карл Великий

 

Карл Великий, сам любивший роскошно одеваться , дал сильный толчок дальнейшему развитию этого искусства. При его дворе все женщины, начиная его с жены Берты и дочерей, были искусными вышивальщицами. Сестра же его, Гизелла, основала несколько монастырей в Провансе и в Аквитании, где преподавались различные рукодельные искусства и в том числе вышивка.

Вышитое полотно из Байё

Вышитое полотно из Байё

 

Среди всех замечательных вышивок особенно известна одна большая и искусная, хотя и наивная по исполнению работа, хранящаяся в музее в Байё (Bayeux). Это 231-футовое полотно , выполненное Матильдой, женой Вильгельма Завоевателя, изображающее все эпизоды завоевания Англии нормандским герцогом.

 

Leave a Reply

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

wordpress best themes - 2012 wordpress theme - magazine wordpress themes